Autumn Rewards from the Home Front

Autumn Review

Since lockdown in March, though working from home; eating out to help out over the summer; and an officially Banksy which has appeared here in Nottingham over the last week; this year has been the strangest and toughest so far, for so many of us.

On the home front – it’s been a year that’s seen my knitting designs increase; my garden grow, my waistline expand and my exercise regime change beyond all recognition! I’ve spent more time designing new knitting patterns and developing my own flair for vintage inspired designs than in previous years; and I’ve found focussing on knitting has been a welcome respite for my mental health. Supporting small businesses has been really important to me throughout the year and this has led to an increased yarn stash; which encourages my creativity; promotes good mental health and means I have a new project lined up for when each current one ends!

As with most of us, it’s been a year for reflection; and my knitting needles have certainly helped manage the frustration of lockdown and isolation!

Lace and Cables – 2020 Designs

Lace Row Cardigan

In February I finished the lace cardigan I started at the end of 2019. It’s super soft and I’m really pleased with the fit, look and texture of the garment. Using a 70% wool and 30% alpaca blend from Baa Ram Ewe Titus https://baaramewe.co.uk/collections/the-titus-collection/products/titus-original-4-plyvariant=17197961314355#:~:text=baa%20ram%20ewe%27s%20Titus%20is%20a%20stunning%2C%20luxurious,and%20feel%20like%2C%20and%20it’s%20just%20like%20this%21 was certainly a good idea; as the delicate stitch pattern is visible enough, whilst the fluffiness and softness of the alpaca can still be seen. It will be time to get this garment out soon too; as the weather here in the UK begins to drop.

Grace Under Pressure

As we headed towards lockdown, I raced to buy balls of Louisa Harding 4ply Amitola from my local yarn shop http://www.yarnloft.co.uk/lh-amitola.html Amitola is a blend of 80% wool and 20% silk; and is a self striping yarn in a range of colours.

I had enjoyed knitting the stitch so much, that I decided to use the same stitch for the body of this jumper. I was interested in how the stripe would look and thought the blend of wool and silk would add a halo to the garment, which I liked so much in the Lace Row cardigan. I decided to knit and write the pattern flat; as i thought the strips would be too thin if I knitted the whole garment in the round. This jumper has short, dolman sleeves and a wide boat neckline; which creates an easy wearing garment that looks as good on it’s own, as it does layered over the top of a long sleeved top. It can be dressed up or down; and is certainly one of the easiest wearing jumpers I’ve designed.

50s Lace Jumper

As we moved into summer, I was drawn back to my yarn stash and a lace vintage pattern I’d knitted a couple of years ago. I love the Ribbon Threaded Jumper from Susan Crawford’s ‘A Stitch In Time’ pattern book https://susancrawfordvintage.com/products/astitchintime-vol2 and had some shell pink cotton Coquette which I’d purchased 18 months previously. I remembered that the lace pattern was easy to follow; but decided to set myself the task of knitting this in the round!!

I have been impressed at how well this has come out and have enjoyed the mental challenge it’s taken. There was some checking and rechecking to be done, to ensure I had the right stitch count to incorporate the pattern at the sides; and at one point I failed to follow a part of the pattern that didn’t need altering and knitted one massive sleeve three sizes too big, which was hilarious! Once I had rectified my mistake; and attached the sleeves to the body, I decided to knit the yoke flat; to ensure the YON and K2 tog sat right. Remembering my disastrous fair isle top last year, which needed reworking smaller; I reduced my needle size to compensate for the tension difference between working in the round and working flat. I shan’t make that mistake again!

Work In Progress

My current knit in a rework of the 1920s cable sampler stole I originally knitted back in 2017

I love this garment; but wanted to try this in an alternative colour and make it longer too. I decided to try this in black – a colour I’ve always steered away from, as dark colours have a tendency to not create enough light and shadow on cables for my liking. I’m using a beautiful soft, shiny yarn from my local yarn shop from Debbie Bliss. This is a 100% Falkland aran weight wool https://www.debbieblissonline.com/product/yarn/falkland-aran/ which has a sheen and softness all of it’s own. Although a bit splitty, this wool is lovely to work with – and I’m certainly a fan!

I’m currently working on the main body of the garment and I’m pleased with how it’s coming on; and looking forward to wearing this once it’s finished!

And Next…well who knows! Stay safe and well peeps; and remember to look after your physical and mental health

Much love, Peggy Lilly

Leave a comment